1. Group Name State Reserve Police Force Group 4 Nagpur
2. Full Address The Commandant, Near Octroi Naka No.9, Hingna Road MIDC, Nagpur Pin- 440016.
3. Date when the group came into existence 1 August 1947
4. Name of the First Commandant Shri M. N. Gadgil
5. Total No. of Companies As on Date 9

The State Reserve Police Force Group IV was originally raised on 1-8-1947 by the Government of the then Central Provinces and Berar by amalgamating twelve companies of the then existing expanded Special Armed Force of the state. These battalions were formed into two depots situated at Nagpur and Jabalpur. The Nagpur battalion was named as the Western Battalion while the Jabalpur battalion was named as the Eastern Battalion each consisting of six companies. An officer of the rank of District Superintendent of Police known as Commandant was entrusted with the task of commanding the battalion. These battalions were formed due to the active interest taken by Shri C.F. Parry, I.P. the then I.G.P. of Central Provinces and Berar. During these times Nagpur was the State capital of the CP and Berar. The Nagpur battalion was later renamed as the first battalion of the CP and Berar SAF. The Headquarter of the Group was shifted to Raigarh(Chattisgarh). However, companies of the Group continued to be deployed at the State capital i.e. Nagpur.
In the year 1956, eight (now eleven) districts of C.P. and Berar were merged to the then Bombay state consequent upon the recommendation of the state reorganization committee headed by Justice Fazal Ali. Consequently, the SAF first battalion was also handed over to the Bombay state. Its headquarter was shifted to the Military cantonment at Kamptee near Nagpur. Shri. Raus was the last Commandant of the battalion from C.P. and Berar state. He was succeeded by Shri. M.N. Gadgil. Till, 1956 three companies(A,B and C) were working under the then S.P. Nagpur while one company each was working under S.P. Amravati, Buldhana and Akola as the Districts Armed Reserve. On 15th of August 1958 the battalion was renamed as the State Reserve Police Force Group VI (Six), Bombay State. In the same year, the companies were withdrawn from the powers of the Ss.P. and were put under the direct command and control of the Commandant who was made the head of the unit in all respects.
In the year 1960, Gujarat was separated from Bombay state as a new state while the remaining part of the Bombay state was renamed as Maharashtra and the Group came to be known as SRPF Group IV (Four), Maharashtra.